[asyncio] Skipping signal handling setup during import for Python embedded context

Python supports initializing the interpreter with signal handling disabled: Initialization, Finalization, and Threads — Python 3.12.0 documentation

As the documentation states, this might be useful when Python is embedded.

Personally, I think its entirely reasonable that, within this embedded context, an application may choose to import and run asyncio. However, this has the unexpected side-effect of setting up asyncio signal handlers, which I’m sure there are lots of great reasons for.

This means that the parent application that has embedded Python must wait until after this import to then setup signal handlers, which is a mild inconvenience.

I’m not an expert as to all the intricacies of signal handling in asyncio, but would it be reasonable to ask that asyncio provide some way to skip this signal handling process? Since its happening during import, I don’t know how I would disable the setup process.

1 Like

Hm. Not much happens in asyncio related to signals except import signal – setting signal handlers only happens when an event loop is created (e.g. by asyncio.run()).

Perhaps the initialization you’d like to skip happens implicitly as a result of importing the signal module? I’m not sure how to help you, as I’m no expert myself on Py_InitializeEx() behavior.

Yeah, it looks like I can reproduce this behavior by importing signal. Should I create a separate forum post to discuss that?

Regarding asyncio’s signal handling setup in run, if I happen to be on the main thread but still want to skip signal handling setup, I can call signal.signal(<signal>, <not_default_int_handler>) beforehand.

But that seems prone to failure if the logic changes in the future (though I don’t know how likely that is). Would it be worth adding some explicit option that allows skipping signal handling setup?