Beginner: Number guessing game not working

Hello! I’m a beginner at Python, I’ve finished a course about the basics regarding Python and am now attempting to do some beginner Python projects from a Youtube video. Right now I’m attempting to create a number-guessing game where the user thinks of a number and the program is supposed to guess it.
I use the IDE Pycharm for this code.

This is the video I found the project on: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8ext9G7xspg&list=WL&index=1&t=1036s (time: 13:17)
Even though I thought followed along with the tutorial perfectly, the code isn’t working like it does in the video. The program guesses a number, but even though I give it feedback on the number being to high, it might still guess a higher number, or the same number again. Could someone tell me what’s wrong with the code I wrote and give tips to how I could fix it?

Here is the code:

import random

def computer_guess(x):
    low = 1 
    # Lowest random number

high = x
    # highest random number

feedback = ""
    while feedback != "c":
        if low != high:
            guess = random.randint(low, high)
        else:
            guess = low
        feedback = (input(f"Is {guess} too high (H), too low (L) or correct(C)? ")).lower
        if feedback == 'h':
            high = guess - 1 
       # 
        elif feedback == 'l': # Lower case L
            low = guess + 1

print(f'The computer guessed the correct number: {guess}!')

computer_guess(10)

I think the problem might simply be that you wrote .lower instead of .lower().

2 Likes

Dang, I kept checking and comparing the code over and over, yet I didn’t catch that. Now I feel silly. Thank you for the help! I guess I just need to be more observant.

There’s no need to feel silly; mistakes like that happen ALL THE TIME, no matter what your skill level is. What you should be doing is not thinking “I should have known better than that”, but “what could I have done to discover this problem?”