Beginner question: getting started with Python project

Hi all,

Nice to e-meet :slight_smile:

I am very new to Python and was hoping to get some help with some very basic topics. In short, I’m trying to run the code from this GitHub project: GitHub - govwiki/rating_history: Download and parse credit rating history files that US rating agencies generate each month in accordance with SEC Rule 17g-7

I have installed all necessary extensions / virtualenv and can run the .py files, however I don’t really understand the structure of these files and where to ‘start’. If I run some of the individual .py files, I don’t really get any of the output I was expecting. I also see a Docker file which perhaps is a place to start, but I don’t know how to run it.

The idea of the code is that it should scrape a few specific XML files from a few govt. websites and put that information in a database.

I’m doing this using Terminal on Mac OSX.

Very keen to get your thoughts / feedback on how I should approach this.

Many thanks!!
Thom

Hey Thom,

The project unfortunately offers no README or similar.

I would strongly suggest to create an issue at their issue tracker and ask for help over there.

When you have a look at the top level files, you can both see a bash script and a docker compose file.

The docker compose file reveals that the project is a web application, which will be started in the docker containers.

When you have a look at the bash file ( rating_history/build.sh at 060fab2c40e4c5c550c7ee7ce376c4cfd13ed7a4 · govwiki/rating_history · GitHub ), you’ll see that the author uses this file to start the containers - but attention! There is a hardcoded path which won’t be available at your pc.

So all in all - this project in its current state is not really targeted to be used by somebody else but the author theirselves.