Boto3 Help Needed

I’m just getting started with boto3 and AWS. I found this article and tried the sample code. I don’t know if the sample code is wrong or if I need to be looking at something else. The bottom line is that the ‘for’ loop outputs nothing and I do not get any errors. Apparently ‘s3.buckets.all()’ returns nothing. Is there a better, more accurate tutorial for getting started with boto3? TIA.

import boto3

s3 = boto3.resource('s3')

for bucket in s3.buckets.all():
    print(bucket.name)

I know nothing about the boto3 library but I think it would be interesting to know how did you configure the credentials file: Quickstart — Boto3 Docs 1.24.42 documentation

Does the AWS CLI have a way how to test the connection and credentials? I would suggest running some kind of such a test.

Yes, the credentials file is correct.

You can check your credentials with

import boto3
print(boto3.Session().get_credentials())

Did you set up any S3 buckets? Check the output of

import boto3
print(boto3.client("s3").list_buckets())

Thanks for the reply. I don’t know what I’m supposed to see but the first returned this:

<botocore.credentials.Credentials object at 0x000001FA55B50340>

The 2nd returned this:

{‘ResponseMetadata’: {‘RequestId’: ‘BSYBFYKP2YB1FF0R’, ‘HostId’: ‘DkMXF2NIi2spxByxNN+g2BFfmRQ8NXR3RaoRWymV4wYcRLBdWjdj/E9e4QRryUV3q/KqxLBtFZA=’, ‘HTTPStatusCode’: 200, ‘HTTPHeaders’: {‘x-amz-id-2’: ‘DkMXF2NIi2spxByxNN+g2BFfmRQ8NXR3RaoRWymV4wYcRLBdWjdj/E9e4QRryUV3q/KqxLBtFZA=’, ‘x-amz-request-id’: ‘BSYBFYKP2YB1FF0R’, ‘date’: ‘Mon, 01 Aug 2022 13:56:56 GMT’, ‘content-type’: ‘application/xml’, ‘transfer-encoding’: ‘chunked’, ‘server’: ‘AmazonS3’}, ‘RetryAttempts’: 0}, ‘Buckets’: , ‘Owner’: {‘DisplayName’: ‘dap1’, ‘ID’: ‘afff17fba9ce9025fc3e955b63cf7831fd1ec41ddb3337287627ab367ea63099’}}

I did not set up any buckets knowingly. I thought buckets already existed which is why the tutorial started off with that code.