Can `asyncio.Queue` be safely created outside of the event loop thread?

I know that asyncio.Queue is not threadsafe, per the documentation and the idea that it is only intended to be used to allow coroutines to communicate with each other on the event loop and thus within a single thread.

However, to me, this only implies that the methods put, get, etc. are not threadsafe. What isn’t clear to me is whether creating the queue outside of an event loop and the thread the event looop is running on is safe or not.

The context is that I have a PySide6 application, so PySide6 gets the main thread. I will then launch an asyncio event loop on a separate, non-main thread. (As a note, I am still learning the proper way to do this, so any thoughts on that are also welcome.) In order for the GUI application to communicate with the asyncio event loop, my plan is to create an asyncio.Queue in the PySide6 main thread and then pass it to the asyncio event loop coroutine that gets ran on its separate thread. Then I want to use asyncio.run_coroutine_threadsafe to run a coroutine that calls put or put_nowait to pass a “message” from the PySide6 main thread to the asyncio event loop.

1 Like

In general asyncio constructors may capture the running event loop, so it’s probably safest to assume everything needs to be done on a single event loop thread, regardless of whether it is currently fine in the cpython implementation.

You could pass in a threadsafe Future instead of a Queue and pass the queue back through the Future?

Sounds like you want thread-safe queues then. queue — A synchronized queue class — Python 3.12.2 documentation They should do everything you need.