Can Python be compiled to binary in any case?

I’m new to python, I’m confused about whether python can be compiled to binary in any case ? I mean no matter how my code is written, as long as it runs correctly, it could be compiled to binary in spec platform?

Python code is compiled to a bytecode that’s stored in .pyc files. You can’t compile it to a .exe file, but you can cheat a bit by taking the normal Python executable and combining it with your .pyc files to make a single package. I don’t recommend this, though. It causes unnecessary problems for a lot of people. Instead, distribute your program as a zip file of Python scripts - a zipapp - which can then be run as conveniently as an executable, but isn’t locked to one build of Python. The zipapp can be considered “compiled to binary”.

2 Likes

Everything on the computer, including text and source code, is “binary” because everything is stored in 1 and 0 bits.

You need to explain what you mean by “compiled to binary”. Python is compiled to binary byte-code. That is what you will find in the .pyc files, and what the compile function does:

>>> compile('len([2, 3])', '', 'single').co_code
b'e\x00d\x00d\x01g\x02\x83\x01F\x00d\x02S\x00'

Is that what you are looking for?

I deliver apps written in python as windows .exe, macOS .app and RPMs on linux all the time. Seems very convientent for my users.

2 Likes

Maybe so, but you aren’t compiling your code in the same way that one compiles C to machine code. (At least, I don’t know for sure you aren’t, but I would be very surprised if you are.) That’s what I said about “cheating” - by combining the regular Python executable with your code, you can make what LOOKS like a compiled executable. But that’s not actually compiled Python code. It will always be run using the exact interpreter that you package with it, and even a basic print("hello, world") has to, by necessity, include the entire language interpreter.