Creating a list from a set

Hi Viewer,

I am a newbie to Python and I am learning lists in Python. I see list() accepts an iterable to create a list. But came across the following interesting line of code,

s = {1, 2, 3}
l = list(s)
print(l)
[1, 2, 3]

If my understanding is correct a set is not an iterable type. So how can we create a list from a set? Please clarify.

Thanks.

All built-in collections, including sets, are iterable.

>>> for i in {1,2,3}: print(i)

What if the collection contains tuples?

Edit: I should first ask if a collection can reference tuples?

A tuple is an object like any other, so you can iterate over a collection that contains tuples, and you’ll get those tuples back. And yes, they certainly can.

>>> s = {1, 2, (31, 32, 33, 34), 4, 5}
>>> for i in s: print(i)
(31, 32, 33, 34)
1 Like

Ah, thank you for the reply. I know one day it will be as clear to me as it is for you: I’m obsessively determined to up-skill. Currently however, it seems like a common mistake for those near the bottom to attempt to iterate non-iterables (at least it is for me).

1 Like

With that attitude, you definitely will upskill. Keep asking questions! Even the ones you think are dumb questions, because there’s a good chance they’re not :slight_smile:

2 Likes

(Please remember that sets are unordered and so the order of the items when converted to a list may differ, and their order should not be relied on).

1 Like

how can an order differ if there is none :rofl:

I believe the order can differ between runs. But within a run, one can add to and remove from a set. I don’t believe that there is any guarantee that if one restores the original membership, the iteration order will be the same. I am pretty sure that if 2 unequal items have the same hash, their order in iteration may depend on insertion order.

1 Like

(Edit: nvm the discussion was about sets which indeed are unordered, so ignore my response)

Python dictionaries are insertion ordered since Python 3.7.