Draft PEP: Recording the source hash of installed distribution

This is a draft PEP proposal originated from https://github.com/pypa/pip/pull/8519
Remarks will be merged into https://github.com/NoahGorny/peps/blob/hash-wheel-source/pep-9999.rst

This is my first time doing this, any constructive criticism is very welcome!

PEP: 9999
Title: Recording the source hash of installed distribution
Author: Noah Gorny <noah.bar.ilan@gmail.com>
Sponsor: ??? <???>
Type: Standards Track
Content-Type: text/x-rst
Created: 5-Jul-2020
Post-History:
Discussion-To:

Abstract
========

Currently, after installation, the hash of the downloaded sdist/wheel is not recorded.

This proposal defines
additional metadata, to be added to the installed distribution by the
installation front end, which records the source hash for use by
consumers which introspect the database of installed packages (see PEP 376).

Motivation
==========

The original motivation of this PEP was to permit tools with a "freeze"
operation allowing a Python environment to be recreated to extend their capabilities
and provide a secure way to generate hash-pinned requirements.

Specifically, the PEP originated from the desire to address `pip issue #4732`_:
i.e. improving the behavior of ``pip freeze`` to allow it to output installed packages hash,
in order to allow easy pinning of the requirements, and easy reproduction
of the environment using hash-checking mode.

Freezing an environment
-----------------------

Pip also sports a command named ``pip freeze`` which examines the Database of
Installed Python Distributions to generate a list of requirements. The main
goal of this command is to help users generating a list of requirements that
will later allow the re-installation the same environment with the highest
possible fidelity.

However, you can not currently output the installed distribution's hash,
as this information is not stored and can not always be computed at run time
from local information.