Easy connect to Postgresql!

Question is below. I just wanted to say how easy it was to get records from Postgresql. From the time I started searching pages, to the time I got results from actual code, was about 20 minutes. That’s a record!

I used import psycopg2. I hope that’s a good one to use, i.e. is it updated often enough?

EDIT:

1. 56,000 records returned in 1.65 seconds.
  2. There will be times when I have to return 100,000+ records or more and process each one by adding up data.

psycopg2 is the industry standard library for Postgres.

But it’s not a bad idea to take a look at Psycopg 3 which they’re moving towards.

For simple stuff psycopg is great, however there is a great library if your needs become more complex SQL Alchemy - https://www.sqlalchemy.org/

Python noob here. At what point should I use SQL Alchemy for Python? We have a case where Power BI cannot handle the huge number of records we select, it just runs out of memory on our VM (hosted by Microsoft). If I can rewrite that report in Python the exec will be thrilled.

Our temporary solution is I told the exec to select a smaller date range.

At what point should I use SQL Alchemy for Python?

As soon as you’re running queries based on arbitrary user input, or you’re just plain sick of writing SQL and prefer an ORM instead.

You should try to write queries that return the minimum amount of data, not the entire record. An SQL level library gives you more control over that, but I’d try SQL ALchemy first myself (I mainly use Psycopg2 via Django, only using it directly for creating roles for non-Django services).

Then you could use Python to selecting the records in blocks that don’t crash the VM, extract write what you need, and save/append that where your execs want it.

Or if it’s an Azure VM, I’m sure Microsoft are able to charge you a little bit more, for a bigger VM with more memory.