Exception Handling With Function Generators

Hello,

I am currently studying the topics of Generator Functions and Generator Expressions.
As some of you may know, generators yield a value once per call using either the next(x) or x.__next__() built-ins as opposed to returning all of the results all at once of an iterable.

The following is the original generator function test code (thereafter I attempt to add exception
handling to the test code to catch the StopIteration exception when attempting to step passed the final
iterable value - for test purposes):

def both(N):
    yield from range(N)
    yield from (x **2 for x in range(N))

result = both(4) # 
next(result) # Repeat this line until all values haven been yielded 

I want to include exception handling so that I ‘catch’ the StopIteration exception so that it does
not crash the script. So, I tried the following two methods:

def both(N):
    try:
        yield from range(N)
    except StopIteration:
        print('All values have been processed.')

and

def both(N):
    try:
        yield from range(N)
    except StopIteration:
        print('All numbers have been processed.')
    try:
    except StopIteration:
        print('All values have been processed.')

When the two attempts above did not work (exception handling did not catch the exception when stepping through passed the last iterable), I tried the following way:

while True:
    try:
        next(a)
    except StopIteration:
        print('All numbers have been processed.')
        break

This final method did catch the StopIteration exception. However, with this final attempt, all of the values are yielded all at once due to the while statement. How can I wrap exception handling to catch the StopIteration such that I step through the yield values one by one?

Any help with clarifying this would be welcome.

Your both returns a generator. The exception is raised by this object’s __next__ method.