Flask app: flash() won't work

My config: Python 3.9, on Windows 10 Pro. I’m new to Python and have not yet completed a 70 hour tutorial on Python. (I’m using Python 3.9 for the long tutorial I’m doing. I will upgrade Python later.)

I’m making a Flask app and need to show a message box with a message and “OK” button over the client browser window. I have a file templates/base.html which has all the styling which is inherited by other pages.

However flash() is not working. Here’s how the program works:

1. Go to the server ‘/’ location. The program shows an add.html form.
  2. Add expense info and click the Add button.
  3. The function addexpense() will be called to save the data and show the message.

Here’s my program.

from flask import flash, Flask, redirect, render_template, request
from flask_sqlalchemy import SQLAlchemy
import os
import ctypes

project_dir = os.path.dirname(os.path.abspath(__file__))
database_file = 'sqlite:///{}' . format(os.path.join(project_dir,"mydatabase.db"))
app = Flask(__name__) # Create our app
app.config["SQLALCHEMY_DATABASE_URI"] = database_file
app.secret_key=b'mysecret'
db = SQLAlchemy(app)

# Create db model.
class Expense(db.Model):
    id = db.Column(db.Integer, primary_key=True)
    date = db.Column(db.String(50), nullable=False) # Cannot be null
    expensename = db.Column(db.String(50), nullable=False) # Cannot be null
    amount = db.Column(db.Integer, nullable=False) # Cannot be null
    category = db.Column(db.String(50), nullable=False)

# Routes.
@app.route('/')
def add():
    return render_template('add.html')

@app.route('/addexpense', methods=['POST'])
def addexpense():
    date = request.form['date'] # This is id of the field.
    expensename = request.form['expensename']
    amount = request.form['amount']
    category = request.form['category']
    print(date + ', ' + expensename + ', ' + amount + ', ' + category)
    # Now add values to database.