Flask: How do I automatically turn off debugging when program is in production?

I’m using Python 3.9 for this tutorial, and the latest version of Flask, on a Windows 10 machine. EDIT: When I’m done with tutorials of various aspects of web dev, I’ll be making apps on the MS Azure platform. But that’s probably 4-6 months away.

I’m doing a long video tutorial on Python since I’m still fairly new to Python. I’m learning Flask in this section of the tutorial. The last statement in my Flask program app.py is app.run(debug=True) # Run the web server. But the teacher says not to use debugging in production as it is a major security problem.

In my tutorial I’m running a web server on 127.0.0.1:5000. In production I will be using an MS Azure service with it’s own server and IP address.

How can I turn off debugging when I put my program into production on the other server? Can I check the IP somehow to turn debugging off? I try to make things like this automatic so there’s one less thing I have to remember.

if IP == '127.0.0.1':
    app.run(debug=True) # Run the web server
else: 
    app.run() # Run the web server

Or is there a more secure way to do this?

Your solution isn’t good, unfortunately.

What if you want to run locally with debug turned off? What if you want to run on a remote server with debug turned on?

A fairly conventional solution is to read all the Flask configuration information, as well as configuration information for your program, from some configuration file that you pass into your program somehow (env variable, a command line argument, etc).

Then you have one configuration file called e.g. debug.json, another called e.g. production.json, and you can create new config files for the two cases I mentioned at the top.

(Configuring programs is a huge can of worms and much more could be written but I wanted to keep this short.)

1 Like