Good way to find memory used by a python program?

1. My config: Python 3.9, Pycharm CE 2023.3.2, on Windows 10 Pro. I’m using Qt Designer and pyuic6 6.4.2. I’m new to Python and have not yet completed a 70 hour tutorial on Python. (I’m using Python 3.9 for the long tutorial I’m doing. I will upgrade Python later.)
  2. Online/Production config: My eventual config will use Microsoft Azure to make a web app. The virtual machine that will run this will likely have limited memory of 1GB.

My dev machine is a Windows PC with 32GB of RAM. The problem here is one of my tasks includes reading a 12GB 12MB CSV file and I’m concerned I will run out of memory on the Azure production machine with 1GB of memory. I don’t know if it uses paged memory when RAM is used up.

• How can I find out how much memory my running Python program uses after reading the CSV file?
  • Is Windows Task Manager good enough for this estimate of memory used? Python runs in a cmd.exe box. And I can see the amount of memory used in this cmd.exe box in Windows Task Manager.

Thank you.

Your program doesn’t really use the memory; the Python process (which implements the Python virtual machine, i.e. a bytecode interpreter) does.

It’s not an estimate; it’s authoritative - depending on your definition of “used”. I’m not sure anything more precise is possible. Keep in mind that the operating system will not necessarily reclaim memory just because a program deallocates it. For all the operating system knows, the same process might want to allocate new memory a few microseconds from now. It can’t predict the future, so why should it reclaim the memory if other processes aren’t asking for any?