Google Colab Code debugging

I am new to python. I am using google colab to practice some ML methods, but I got stuck with the error message for a few days. I don’t know how to debug it even though it seems there are answers to similar questions on the website. Please help!

below are my code

train, X_train, y_train = scale_dataset(train, oversample=True)
valid, X_valid, y_valid = scale_dataset(valid, oversample=False)

below are the error message

ValueError Traceback (most recent call last)
in <cell line: 1>()
----> 1 train, X_train, y_train = scale_dataset(train, oversample=True)
2 valid, X_valid, y_valid = scale_dataset(valid, oversample=False)

4 frames
/usr/local/lib/python3.10/dist-packages/pandas/core/generic.py in _where(self, cond, other, inplace, axis, level)
9652 for _dt in cond.dtypes:
9653 if not is_bool_dtype(_dt):
→ 9654 raise ValueError(msg.format(dtype=_dt))
9655 else:
9656 # GH#21947 we have an empty DataFrame/Series, could be object-dtype

ValueError: Boolean array expected for the condition, not object

It isn’t clear what you mean here, therefore it’s hard to know what the next step should be.

What website is “the website”? This one? The Google Colab one? Some site for a tutorial you’re following? Something else?

What similar questions did you find, and what do their answers say? Did you try doing anything after reading those answers? What happened when you tried following such advice (if any), and how was it unhelpful?

From the internet, it says below

“This error most commonly occurs when you try to select columns using a dataframe.”
So I used the following code to solve the problem.

X_train = train.iloc[:,:400] # Grabs all rows and first 400 columns
y_train = train.iloc[:,-1:] # Grabs all rows and last 1 columns
y_train=np.ravel(y,order=“c”)

X_test = test.iloc[:,:400] # Grabs all rows and first 400 columns
y_test = test.iloc[:,-1:] # Grabs all rows and last 1 columns
y_test=np.ravel(y,order=“c”)