Help (beginners stuff) - Replit - bash: [name of the variable]: comand not found

Dear all,
utter beginner here.
Programming environment: Replit

My code (ahum…) ran smoothly for two days.
In a way it stil does, but I can no longer use the CLI as I used to.
For instance: when I call the current value of a variable, I get the following error message:

“bash: [name of the variable]: comand not found”.

What’s going on here?
M0

Hoi Jos,

bash is an OS command shell. When you run

python $file

it only runs that script once, then exits back to the OS shell!
Try just running python and then inside the python interpreter, run:

import main

(Note that main.py needs to be in your current directory or somehow findable on the PYTHONPATH else you’ll get a ModuleNotFoundError.)

Look at the tabs for the right-hand window. See how “Console” is highlighted? This is a place where Replit simulates what a terminal window on your computer would do: a place where you can run programs, navigate through folders etc. (But it looks like it’s pretending to be a computer that runs Linux; if you use Windows then this will not be familiar to you.) I don’t use the Replit website at all, so I’m not really sure why they have a feature like this; it’s probably very limited.

If you click the “Shell” tab, it should give you the place where you can type Python code and have it interpreted one statement at a time, instead. Unfortunately, the terms used here are not very standardized. I can easily argue for applying them the other way around, even.

But in the long run, I would recommend learning the following skills, that I consider fundamental:

1. Install Python locally (Linux and Mac computers will generally come with a version of Python already installed, but it’s better if you learn about this anyway; you can get a more up-to-date version, and the “system Python” is often protected against changes for security reasons)