Help me to initialize or trigger a python file to run in every 2 hrs?

Hi there,
I am new to Python.
I have a “ProcessAll.py” script which is schedule by zcron to run every 2 hrs. But currently the automatic refresh is having issue.

Is there any ways I can schedule the “ProcessAll.py” python script to run automatically from python script.

when I check on internet its show to schedule a job but not python file.
How can I use python script to schedule a python file to trigger.

Thanks

Usually I have better luck using something like cron or task scheduler (windows) to schedule scripts to run.

I don’t think there is a specific python thing that normally does that at least built-in.

A quick search found this module which may help: schedule — schedule 1.2.0 documentation

Using something like that, you would start a script on boot (or whenever) and schedule your task to call your script at the timeframe you need.

Though honestly it may make more sense to figure out why zcron isn’t triggering (and then if needed swap to something else).

I’ve never used zcron, so can’t comment on it directly.

To schedule your “ProcessAll.py” script to run automatically from another Python script, you can use the built-in schedule library in Python.

Hi Ahana,
Will you please help me with the script , how to use the built-in schedule and call or refer to any documents.
Thanks

When I first have a problem I search the internet for web pages. If you like videos than you can start on Youtube where the stuff is free. I like the videos by Indently. Try this: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FCPBG6NqMmQ&pp=ygUWcHl0aG9uIHNjaGVkdWxlIG1vZHVsZQ%3D%3D

So you would write a new program that does nothing but schedule tasks and run them. Call it “mycron.py” or “pycron.py”. :slight_smile:

When I get search results on Google or Youtube I set the filter to show show items from the past year so I don’t get examples that are deprecated or are no longer recommended.