Help with Quattro/Asyncio

Hi all,

I’m trying my hand at using Quattro to keep my sanity but I have a problem I don’t understand. I’ve used Python in the past but never Quattro nor Asyncio.

I’m writing a program for a PA to emulate a sort of dumbed down P2P network. Why choose Python given I’m not that experienced with it? Java was the other option…

I reduced the program down to the following single-file MVP that demonstrates the problem:

import asyncio
import sys
import socket
from socket import socket as Socket
from quattro import TaskGroup

HOST = "127.0.0.1"

async def peer_handler(conn):
    print("Accepted a connection")
    while True:
        print("Still kickin'!")

async def connect_to(handler, port):
    print("DEBUG ({}:{})".format(__file__, sys._getframe().f_lineno))
    with Socket(socket.AF_INET, socket.SOCK_STREAM) as s:
        s.connect((HOST, port))
        await handler(s)

async def connect_to_peers(peer_ports):
    async with TaskGroup() as tg:
      for peer_port in peer_ports:
          tg.create_task(connect_to(peer_handler, peer_port))

async def listen_to_peers(peers_port):
        with Socket(socket.AF_INET, socket.SOCK_STREAM) as s:
            s.bind((HOST, peers_port))
            s.listen()

while True:
                conn, addr = s.accept()
                print("Accepted {}".format(peers_port))
                args = make_args(conn)
                tg.create_task(peer_handler(conn))

async def main(args):
    # PEERS_PORT [PEER_PORTS...]
    #   PEERS_PORT => Port where we'll listen for peers
    #   PEER_PORTS => Ports of peers we'll try to connect to
    # Example:
    #  server: 4000
    #  client: 4001 4000
    peers_port = args[0]
    peer_ports = args[1:]

tg.create_task(listen_to_peers(peers_port))
        tg.create_task(connect_to_peers(peer_ports))

print("The End")

if __name__ == '__main__':
    asyncio.run(main(list(map(int, sys.argv[1:]))))