How backwards compatible with older Python versions should a library/tool be?

Python had quite a number of real useful improvements in version 3.8, up to recent 3.10.
However, when implementing a library/tool I am a bit concerned about what the implications may be of basically forcing users to use a rather recent version of Python if they want to use the library.
As I have been a Java developer in the past, this is something that always was of extreme concern – there are still tons of machines around where people run Java 8 (released 2014) or even older.

However I do not have a good feeling about how much of a concern this may be with Python - it seems installing a newer Python into a new environment version is easy and should not be a problem at all.

So what remains are situations where a user wants to use my library together with one that is not forward compatible with a newer Python version and requires some old version (e.g. 3.4 or 3.6). How common is this in Python? Should a library developer be worried about that?

If you want to be “safe-enough”, find a package/library that is common and support the same versions they do – pytest comes to mind (mostly because my libraries support 2.7 and 3.3+, and pytest only support 3.5 (3.6) +.

If you really want to use the latest features, and aren’t worried about other potential users, then support the last couple releases.

If you’re just plain stubborn (or have to for other reasons), support 2.7 and 3.3+. :wink:

1 Like

Well, one guideline would be to have a look at Python’s own rules for release
and support
- Python 3.6 just released end of life last December. Unless you have a specific user in mind, that seems a reasonable minimum to require.

For library changes and additions, often there’s a backport on PyPI you can use by wrapping the import in a try-except. Even for syntax changes you could use eval() or a conditional import to avoid it running on old versions.

1 Like