How do I remove __XXX__ from dir printing

I would like to remove the file names( XXX) in the print out. Yea I’m new to Python 3. Thanks.

import math
content = dir(math)
print (content)

output:
[‘doc’, ‘file’, ‘name’, ‘acos’, ‘asin’, ‘atan’,
‘atan2’, ‘ceil’, ‘cos’, ‘cosh’, ‘degrees’, ‘e’, ‘exp’,
‘fabs’, ‘floor’, ‘fmod’, ‘frexp’, ‘hypot’, ‘ldexp’, ‘log’,
‘log10’, ‘modf’, ‘pi’, ‘pow’, ‘radians’, ‘sin’, ‘sinh’,
‘sqrt’, ‘tan’, ‘tanh’]

By Leonard Dye via Discussions on Python.org at 30Jul2022 23:56:

I would like to remove the file names( XXX) in the print out. Yea
I’m new to Python 3. Thanks.

This sounds like an exercise. I would suggest you use a list
comprehension:

So dir(math) returns a list of names from the math module. You want
that list without the __*__ names. So write a list comprehension which
only results in names which do not start with '__' and end with
'__'. You might test that with some string methods:

Cheers,
Cameron Simpson cs@cskk.id.au

So I need to make a list of math.dir and the remove the offending items (‘XXX’). print the results.

Thank you for your help!

woodturner550

Hi Leonard,

For future note, when typing code you can place code blocks with triple backticks “`”

def foo():

Or you can place code inline with a single back “`”

code in line inline_variable_name.

This is particularly useful because as your post shows the double underscore you are using without the backticks is being interpretted as markdown

(‘XXX’) - no backticks
('__XXX__') - with single backtick surround

This is as far as I can go till I get a book on regex codes.

‘’’
import re

pattern = ‘.*.’ # needed a wild card
text = ‘Does xxalkjsjlkjxx fhjgfjf in this text match the pattern?’

match = re.search(pattern, text)

s = match.start()
e = match.end()

print(‘Found “{}”\nin “{}”\nfrom {} to {} (“{}”)’.format(
match.re.pattern, match.string, s, e, text[s:e]))
‘’’
It is missing ‘.*.

By Leonard Dye via Discussions on Python.org at 01Aug2022 01:06: