How do I replace a hex value in a string with something printable?

I have Python 3.11 on Windows 10. I’m still fairly new to Python.

I have a string with data I got from a website. The website uses an extended ascii character for the minus sign and I’d like to change that to a normal printable dash. The next value of the odd character is \x2212.

But I’ve never seen anyway to represent a value in hex in a Python string so I can use the .replace() function.

This is what I’ve tried:

def cleanhtmllist(mylist): 
    r'''Change extended ascii to normal characters.
    In the Wikipedia page there is an extended ascii character that must be changed to a minus sign. 
    In: list of strings
    Out: List of strings

Change this, to this: 
    \x2212 (dec 8722)  -
    '''
    procname = str(inspect.stack()[0][3]) + ":"

for l in mylist: 
        l = l.replace('\x2212', '-')
        newlist.append(l)

return newlist

The function actually receives a list of strings which I have to clean up.

I’m also having a problem finding the extended non-printing characters in this code which calls the function. This regex never finds the non-printing characters.

# I didn't know how to represent the hex ctr 0x2212 in Python so I used \x2212. 
ind_row_data = ['Walmart', 'more stuff', 'something else',  '\x2212$220,500']
tstr = ', '.join(ind_row_data) # Change list to string.
if re.match(r'[^ -~]', tstr): # Find high ascii ctrs.
    print(f"{ind_row_data[0]} profit={profit}")
    print(f"Row has ext ascii: {ind_row_data}")
    ind_row_data = cleanhtmllist(ind_row_data)

So the cleanhtmllist() function is not running.

'\u2212'

The “u” is for Unicode code point

If you print this out, you’ll see it’s actually

'"12$220,500'

\x only looks at the next two characters, in this case 22, which gives you a double-quote.

Ok, to check for high ascii characters I actually had to use hex codes in the regex expression like this:

if re.search(r'[^\x20-\x7e]', sourcestr): # Find high ascii ctrs.