How does Python 3.12 handle extended ASCII letters?

I’m pretty new to Python. How does Python 3.12 on Windows 11 handle extended ASCII characters like accented letters? I will be reading and writing Excel and CSV files. I will also be running Python programs in a web app on the MS Azure ecosystem via a web page.

In Perl it was pretty painful and difficult to do. We sometimes have European names and words with accented characters in spreadsheets or other files. We also have some spreadsheets with Japanese in them as well.

My job is to read the original spreadsheet and output the data in different groupings or sortings.

Accented characters are found in latin-1 encoding: ISO/IEC 8859-1 - Wikipedia

In python it is generally pretty easy, just make sure you know the encoding of the input files. Otherwise you probably don’t need to think about it.

The same way as any Python 3 on any operating system.

“Extended ASCII” hasn’t been a particularly useful or meaningful term for quite some time. Unicode is the standard.

There are two separate concepts needed to understand Unicode: the encoding (rules that say how to re-interpret the bytes as a sequence of “code point” numbers) and the Unicode mapping (rules that assign an actual character to each code point - i.e., explain which character is which, what kind of script it comes from, how to position it graphically, and other such character properties). But with Unicode, the latter is always the same. There is a common Unicode database, which is versioned and maintained by the Unicode Consortium. So the interesting part is the encoding.