How much memory does using "from xxx import *" use

• My eventual config will use Microsoft Azure to make a web app. The virtual machine that will run this will likely have limited memory. We are charged for both storage and something I can’t remember but which is like runtime. And we are charged more for VMs that have a higher memory/RAM config.
  • I do not control the budget for this project.

I’m new to Python and have not completed a tutorial on Udemy yet. I want to address a possible memory issue as I will be dealing with processing large XLSX or CSV files with 500,000 lines sometimes.

My question: Which uses less memory? When I import only some parts of a module or when I do from modulename import *?

I expect to use many modules in my Python code for reading/writing Excel spreadsheets, CSV files, tab-delimited files, and other things in the future, on a VM with only 1GB of memory. So I hope to find out how this works with modules so I can write my programs smaller.

Thank you!

There is no effective difference. All of the code in the module’s __init__.py will be executed either way. The only difference is how you access the instantiated objects after that code has been executed.

First write the app in an obvious and maintainable way.
Then benchmark to see what its memory use is.
If its acceptable you are done.

If not them you can worry about shrinking the memory use.
You may find that its the storing of the data that is the thing you need to optimise.

For example with a CSV file can you process it row-by-row and avoid loading it all into memory?

For XLSX I think you will have to load all of it into memory that means that bif XLSX will be a limiting factor.

2 Likes

Correct, that’s my primary concern, is making it maintainable. My secondary concern is memory usage for very large spreadsheets which are about 5-10GB in the compressed XLSX form.