How to do multi-line f strings?

My config: Python 3.9, Pycharm CE 2023.3.2, on Windows 10 Pro. I’m using Qt Designer and pyuic6 6.4.2. I’m new to Python and have not yet completed a 62 hour tutorial on Python. (I’m using Python 3.9 for the long tutorial I’m doing. I will upgrade Python later.)

In the Python tutorial I’m doing I’m creating long SQL statements and using a multi-line f string to make them like this:

cursor = self.conn.cursor()
        sql = (f'UPDATE products SET name={name}, price={price}, ' +
               'description={description} WHERE  id={product_id}')
        print("Update: SQL=" + sql)
        cursor.execute(sql)
        self.conn.commit()

But when the code is executed the program throws an error because after the first line the {variables} do not put in the values.

Is it possible to do a multi-line f string? Or do I have to do it the more wordy way like this?

sql = 'UPDATE products SET name=' + name + ', price=' + str(price) + ', ' +
'description=' + description + ' WHERE  id=' + str(product_id) 

I’d like to put the SQL in a variable for debugging purposes.

Thank you!

EDIT: I have tried these things also:

sql = 'UPDATE products SET name=' + name + ', price=' + str(price) + ', ' \
 'description=' + description + ' WHERE  id=' + product_id

sql = "UPDATE products SET name={}, price={}, description={} "
"WHERE id={}".format(name,price,description,product_id)

sql = "UPDATE products SET name={}, price={}, description={} "+
"WHERE id={}".format(name,price,description,product_id)

They all get some type of error.

Use a triple-quoted f-string:

print(f"""
{1 + 2}
{3 * 4}
""")
sql = (f'UPDATE products SET name={name}, price={price}, '
       f' description={description} WHERE  id={product_id}')

UPDATE:
you should NEVER use string concate to make a sql query.

use something like this, PLEASE

4 Likes

This worked for string assignment. Thanks!

sql = (f'UPDATE products SET name={name}, price={price}, '