How to extract data from a PDF I didn't make?

1. I’m using Python 3.12 on Windows 10 Pro. I’m still somewhat new to Python. But I’ve been practicing writing different programs which do different things.
  2. I didn’t make the PDF, it’s an 800 page bill from a vendor (Fedex). I don’t know what’s in it but it’s fairly tabular in structure.
  3. I can’t post an example because it has private data in it.
  4. I will start by extracting data from the first 3 pages. That will be my test case.

I’ve found these options that I will be researching:

1. Camelot: This library excels at extracting tabular data from PDFs. It identifies tables and extracts them into a structured format like a Pandas DataFrame.
  2. PDFQuery: This library allows you to extract data using CSS-like selectors to target specific elements within the PDF’s structure. It’s useful for PDFs with a consistent layout.

But does anyone have any experience doing this? Do you have any tips or caveats?

Thank you! You’ve all been very helpful in my learning experience.

The PDF format is fairly complex. You can refer to the PDF Extract API How to to get a sense of its structure.

I haven’t extensively used any PDF Python library since I usually refer directly to specifications and implement algorithms of interest.