How to make variables global by default, Python 3.11

I have Python 3.11 on Windows 10 Pro. I’m still a bit new to Python but I’m learning.

In Python 3.11 the variables declared in the main program are not global by default and I cannot use them in functions. So if I want to use them in a function I have to use the global prefix/keyword.

# In main block.
myvar = ''
# Here's my function.
def myfunc():
    global myvar
    myvar = "hi"
    return myvar
print(myfunc())

in Python 3.11 is there a way to make all these variables global by default. I have about 5 variables used for command line options that I pass into some functions.

Thanks!

p.s. I can’t use Python 3.12 because Microsoft Azure does not support it yet. Azure will be my production environment.

EDIT: I currently have 8 global variables related to command-line options. It’s possible I will add a few more before the program is done.

No, and for good reason. Global variables should be avoided like the plague.

1 Like

I use an Option class to hold all the command options for my apps.
That way I can pass one object around.

They are global by default (if such a thing exists). The names just get rebound to local values when you reassign them… One way to avoid that is (sticking by your example):

def myfunc():
    newvar = myvar
    newvar = "hi"
    return newvar

or just pass them in to the function e.g.

def myfunc(myvar=myvar):

(I’m assuming you want to use them under the same name)

I agree that you should try to keep the use of globals to a minimum as to avoid losing track of how they are used.
Personally I tend to use a top function in which the others are called but the issue remains the same: reusing a variable name and changing the value makes it a new variable

Me too. - Cameron Simpson cs@cskk.id.au

I was just thinking this. Right now I have 8 global variables in my program enter.py. It’s possible I will add more.

Did you make your own class for command line options?