How to use pip install to build some scientific packages from sources with custom build arguments

Hi,
I’m new to Python and Docker, learning a lot these days. I’m facing the problem of learning how to dockerize my Python app and I wanted to reduce his size. Due to some scientific depedencies the image is huge. I read about the possibility to build core scientific libraries like numpy, scipy, pandas, etc. from source with custom building arguments, e.g. by removing symbols and debug stuff or by selecting the blas/palack libraries, e.g. openblas (small) vs MLK (huge). Please see here for a reference.

Anyway I am struggling to do this through the pip python package manager.
To date, what I tried is installing some building dependencies, for instance (numpy and scipy deps):

build-essential
cmake
ninja-build
gfortran
pkg-config
python-dev
libopenblas-dev
liblapack-dev
cython3
patchelf
libatlas-base-dev
libffi-dev

And the tried to use pip as follows (tried, for instance, just numpy from source):

pip install --prefix=${VIRTUAL_ENV} --no-cache-dir --use-pep517 --check-build-dependencies --no-binary numpy --global-option=build_ext --global-option=“-g0” --global-option=“-Wl,–strip-all” --requirement dependencies.txt

I am strugging to unstarstand:

• The difference between the --compile and the --no-binary options of pip install. Which should I use?
  • The use and implifications of the option --no-build-isolation, should I exploit it in my case?
  • How to drop the option --global-option (being deprecated as I understood) and still passing custom build arguments. Should I exploit the option --config-settings? Where can I find real world examples of using it in different ways?
  • Can I do the above per package, e.g. custom options for building numpy and different options for building scipy?
  • How can I speed-up the building time? Should I investigate the -j4 option for istance?

Faced with this problem I would not use pip at all.