I am a very new beginner, help with this code I don't understand

x = int(input("Guess my favorite number\n"))
y = 69
try :
    num = int(x)
    if num == y :
        print ("CORRECT :BINGOOOO")
    else :
        if y%2 == 0 :
            print('INCORRECT : the number is definitely even')
        else :
            print ('INCORRECT : the number is f*cking odd')
        if num < y :
            print("Your number is less than mine")
        elif num > y :
            print ("Your number is more than mine...")
except : 
    print ("Enter a number la stupid ass")

Question is why ain’t my code gives out the ERROR as the keyword ‘except’ states? Maybe I don’t understand the concept here, pls help

The conversion to int on line 1 is outside the try: except: block.
The second conversion on line 4 is inside and would work, but it never reaches that point.

Why the second conversion doesn’t work? What do you mean by it doesnt ‘reach’ that point? What’s the logic here? (and yes thank you It did work after I pasted it inside the TRY block but now I do wanna understand the logic)

The lines are executed one by one from top to bottom.
The first line is executed first.
There you input something and that input is converted to a number.
If that conversion fails (because you didn’t enter a number) an exception is raised (an error happens).
This means instead of continuing with the next lines it jumps directly to a except: clause if it is in a try: block. If it can not find such a try: except: the program is aborted and some information about the error is printed.

Oh so basically the input needs to be in the try and except block because it detects what we input first then it executes. If its outside such a block then it won’t detect the ‘conversion failure’. I understand, thanks for the information :)))