IDLE PermissionError Mac

Device: MacBook Pro M1 16GBRAM
Issue Program: Python IDLE Shell

Hi all,

This is my first post so thanks for reading!

I am a real beginner at coding, and have decided to learn Python. I have bought myself the Beginner’s Step By Step Coding Course book to help with my journey and am completing basic exercises from it.

I am attempting to create a ‘Project Planner’ (Gantt chart) using IDLE.

After writing the necessary code I keep getting the same error:

ead_tasks(“project.csv”)
Traceback (most recent call last):
File “<pyshell#0>”, line 1, in
read_tasks(“project.csv”)
File “/Users/MrControla/Documents/Projects/Python/Project Planner/planner.py”, line 4, in read_tasks
for row in csv.reader(open(project)):
PermissionError: [Errno 1] Operation not permitted: ‘project.csv’

I have googled the “PermissionError” and have found forums saying I need to go into Security & Privacy > Full Disk Access > then give full disk access permission to IDLE and Terminal. Having done that, I still have the same PermissionError.

Further googling suggest making changes in safe mode to the operating system, or using a docker container to create the code in. All of which sounds far too complicated for a simple program I am trying to create.

I have also found forums saying that M1 MacBooks have restricted permissions that are set by Apple and many other people have come across problems with python.

I have reached out to Apple and opened a ticket with them, they have checked my user rights and confirm I’m an administrator who should have necessary permissions. Apple has suggested I reach out to the Python team to see if it’s a known problem there may be a solution for.

Apple is going to continue the support if not and delve further into my permissions, but wanted to eliminate this possibility first.