Installed opencv but having trouble importing it

Hi all,

I recently downloaded anaconda python in order to work on an opencv personal project.

I installed opencv using pip install opencv-contrib-python, where it installed successfully. Now, when I type import cv2 in my .py file, I get the following error:

ModuleNotFoundError: No module named 'cv2'

I’m a beginner, so I really don’t know what is happening. Here are some things that can maybe help:

where pip

C:\Users\Lildu\anaconda3\Scripts\pip.exe

where python

C:\msys64\ucrt64\bin\python.exe

Any help would be appreciated, thanks!

Hi,

in your command prompt (NOT Python interpreter), type:

pip install cv2

to install this module into your packages folder.

Careful not to mix up the name of a distribution package with the name(s) of the import package(s) it provides. In this case the distribution the OP wants to install is opencv-contrib-python, which provides the import package cv2.

Looks like you have multiple Python installations (MSYS2, anaconda, and possibly more). The first pip and python commands on your path are coming from different installations. Hence when you ran pip install ..., you installed opencv to a different interpreter than the one the the python command corresponds to.