Is there anyway to effectively make this code use all available CPU threads?

I would like this code to be able to utilize all available cpu threads if possible. Im a total newb when it comes to coding and have no idea where to start with adding the needed multithreading function.

Thanks!

```Python
import time

def nextInt(input1, max_input):
    start_time = time.time()  # Record the start time
    cont = True

try:
        input1 = int(input1)
    except:
        return 'ERROR'

while cont and input1 <= max_input:
        steps = 0
        input2 = input1

while input2 != 1:
            steps += 1
            if input2 % 2 == 0:
                input2 = input2 // 2
            else:
                input2 = 3 * input2 + 1

value = [input1, steps, input2]

if input1 != max_input:
            input1 += 1
        else:
            cont = False

end_time = time.time()  # Record the end time
    total_time = end_time - start_time
    print(f"Total running time: {total_time} seconds")
    input("Press any key to exit")

max_value = int(input('Enter the maximum input value: '))
nextInt(1, max_value)```

Python isn’t the best language to make your code concurrent, because GIL.
Now, what exactly is this suppose to do? The way I see it, you calculate the sum of steps it takes to divide all numbers from 1 to max?

The GIL is completely irrelevant here. Regardless of the language, single-threaded code is single-threaded code.

To make this use more than one CPU core, you first have to separate the job into multiple threads that can run at the same time. What you have here is completely serial.

I didn’t say that GIL and single-threaded code are related any way, did I? And this is basically a loop where 1 variable goes from 1 to max number and you have another variable that is incremented by 1 in each iteration. This is perfectly parallelizable if this is all that’s needed.