Learning resources for beginners

Hi, I am learning python through freecodecamp and by reading ‘python crash course’. I want to know how I can contribute to open source projects, considering that I have very little knowledge about programming.

Are you hoping that “contributing to open source projects” will help you to learn programming? Or do you want to do it because you think it will look good on a resume etc.?

Please keep in mind that open source projects exist for a reason. Whatever code is “contributed” to them has to be something that works and that will solve a problem. It’s very unlikely they’ll accept something that they didn’t explicitly ask for, unless you can do all the work to show them that it fixes a problem (and you’ll have to convince them that it is a problem). There are several pieces to this, and every piece is much harder if you “have very little knowledge about programming”. Most of them will not see themselves as “learning resources for beginners”, and their leaders will not be happy that beginners want to try to use the project that way.

Relevant:

1 Like

@Quanefi Have you considered something organised, like Google Summer of Code?

There are plenty of projects that welcome contributions from newcomers - see this. I don’t think the last post reflects a majority view at all - it seems somewhat cynical and elitist to suggest that only experienced developers should contribute to open source projects.

I started out 10 years ago with only “academic” Python and no professional experience. I now work as a professional software and data engineer, and that is at least in part due to a track record of (voluntary) contributions to a number of open source projects. You always start out as a beginner in any new project, but surely one of the points missed in the last post that you can develop your experience by looking for areas where you can contribute.