Module not found but it's already installed

• I’m fairly new to Python. I use Python 3.11.8 (what MS Azure supports, my eventual production environment) on Windows 10.
  • I’m testing a program on Windows 10.
  • I have created and activated my virtual environment in the cmd.exe window.
  • My program is in c:\users\MYUSER\onedrive - CONAME\documents\pythonprojects\CONAME\CUSTNAME\buscard\buscard.py
  • This program worked last week just fine. The only thing that changed is at the top of the program, I changed the order of imports to make importing my custom utils (call it ggutils.py) last as I may have to change the sys.path right before I import ggutils. But the error happens before I change the sys.path.
  • Imports of standard modules work fine. Pandas has to be installed separately. That’s the one that fails.
  • I edit my program in VS Code but run it in cmd.exe with the command line: py -m pdb buscard.py input "Test 1"

Here is my code:

import os
import re
import sys
print("Sys.path is:",sys.path)
import glob  # To get list of files.
import inspect
from pathlib import Path
import pandas # NOT FOUND
import shutil
import xmltodict
sys.path.append(sys.path[0] + r"c:\users\MYUSER\Pycharmprojects\ggutil2024") # Required to use ggutil
from ggutil import *  # My Custom utils.

When I run my buscard.py program and I get to a line import pandas then I get an error “Module not found”. When I go to cmd.exe and run pip install pandas I get “Requirements already satisfied”.

I’m not sure what I’m doing wrong here. I ran the program the same way last week via cmd.exe and it worked fine.

Can someone help please? Thank you.

The python that pandas is installed for is not the same as the one you are running your code for.

Try using py -m pip install pandas and not pip.

Running pip --version will report which python it is installed for.
Compare that with py -m pip --version

You were right. My current pip is for Python 3.9, the old one I’m not using.