Need help with a two-dimensional array

Hello there! I’m an experienced coder who’s just getting into Python for the first time. I know several versions of BASIC, Pascal, C, C++, C#, PHP, MySQL… and so on. Here’s what I have:

1  2 3  4 5  6 7 8

A X X X X X X X X
B X X X X X T X X
C X X X X X X X X
D X X X X X X X X
E X X X X X X X X
F X X X X X X X X
G X X X X X X X X
H X X X X X X X X

This is a simple two-dimensional array. Row 2 Column 6 is “T”. Doing this in C# or VB is easy. In Python? I’m having trouble.

I created my variable:
ball = [[0]*9]*9

… but ball[2][6] = 2 seems to assign the value to the entire column, which I don’t want. I know that what I’m trying to do is possible, and it’s probably pretty straightforward, but I’m missing something fundamental here.

Can you please direct me to the proper method of creating the variable, and changing one single element? Thanks!

[0] * 9 makes 9 references of the int 0 and places them in a list. All the zeros are the same, but that’s okay because you can’t ever change them. When you put a new element in the list, nothing happens to the old ones.

[[0]*9]*9 makes 9 references of that previous list. This is a problem. Since there’s only one list, when you change an element in it, that change appears over all 9 references to it. You need to have 9 independent lists for your rows. So you need to be a bit more verbose here. Something like…

ball = [[0]*9 for _ in range(9)]
ball[2][6] = "T"

What you’ve bumped into here, David, is one of Python’s fundamentals: Python defaults to treating almost everything as an object. As bowlOfRed mentioned, the ’ * ’ operator replicates list objects. Your value assignment affects all rows because the first list is a reference to a [ [0] * 9 ] 'list of zeroes' object..