OpenCV2 - Constant video stream, write file 1 minute before and after an event

G’day everyone,
I hope this is the correct place to ask this sort of question, I’m still quite new to Python.

Using OpenCV2, I can stream and write a video file from my webcam… I’d like to take this a step further, ideally by having a continuous video buffer (let’s say 1minute), and after an event happens (eg an input from a user will do for now), write a video file 1minute before and after this event… is this possible? My googling has come short, I suspect I’m using the wrong terminology.

Cheers,
Brad

Yes, it’s definitely possible! But rather than recreating it from scratch, I would recommend looking into OBS Studio. It has a “replay buffer” concept that is pretty much exactly what you’re talking about, and you can signal it to save that buffer as a video file, while continuing to record to the buffer as it goes. OBS can be controlled from Python fairly easily using a websocket.

G’day Chris,
Thanks for your reply. I hadn’t considered offloading the video stream to another process, it’s not a bad idea and would save on my coding, but it might affect portability.

Something I’ll need to take into account is this will end up on a headless server (something similar to a Jetson Nano or Raspberry Pi4… I’ve got a few old boards stashed away in a draw). Whatever the video streaming service I use would need to operate without a local user logging in or a GUI, the event to trigger the recording will be via GPIO pins and a button.

Can you do it frame-by-frame?

import cv2

capture = cv2.VideoCapture(...)
frames = []
while True:
    ret, frame = capture.read()
    frames.append(frame)
    if too_many_frames():
       frames.pop(0)
    if special_user_event():
        capture_one_more_minute_of_frames()
        write_to_disk(frames)

Ah, that makes it a bit harder. I’m not sure what would be best there.