PEP 706 – Filter for tarfile.extractall

Hello,
As a way to properly fix CVE-2007-4559 , I propose adding filter argument to tarfile extraction methods, and, after a deprecation period, limiting tarfile’s more dangerous features unless the user specifically asks for them.

I’m not a tarfile expert (certainly I wasn’t one two months ago), so I’m progressing carefully, and I wrote a PEP to help make sure I’m not forgetting something: PEP 706 – Filter for tarfile.extractall | peps.python.org

The draft implementation should work now, but lacks docs and the tests only work on my machine.

The previous discussion was positive in general.
I’m not too happy with the interaction with shutil.unpack_archive and thus zip – basically, with my proposal you’ll either get DeprecationWarning or need to detect and special-case tar archives. I don’t see a good way to solve this without adding filters there, which would need a thorough understanding of zipfile, which would probably mess up my plans for 3.12 :‍(

Major changes since the previous discussion:

• The default is no longer a filter function, but a special default value. The default is to warns once per extraction, not per member. (Turns out that many members are changed in some way, e.g. mode is ignored for all directories, so warning on changed members only isn’t very useful.)
  • Mention that code that relies on TarInfo object identity may break – IMO it’s a small problem concern in practice, but worth noting
  • Adjusted path filter rules to better work across platforms: I based them on *nix-based tar that e.g. assumes absolute paths start with /, which isn’t the case on Windows.
  • The default can be set via a class attribute (and as a function, so monkeypatchers will probably need staticmethod)
  • Filter functions take the destination path, so they don’t match the addfile filter API
  • The filter that keeps benign unix/*nix-/posix-specific details is still named tar, after too much internal bikeshedding