PIL: Create image from blob doesn't work

Hi there,
I’m fairly new to python.
I’m reading images from an sqlite3 database. Unfortunately there is no info about the format. Therefore I need to get the format from the image itself. I came across the image module of PIL and it works fine so far when I create the image object from a file. However I didn’t find out a way to create the image object directly from the blob. This is my code, note the inline remarks:

def extractPicture(cursor, picture_id):
        try:
            sql = "SELECT rowid, Name, Bild FROM `Substanzen - Substanzen` WHERE rowid = :id"
            param = {'id': picture_id}
            cursor.execute(sql, param)
            rowid, name, ablob = cursor.fetchone()
            print(name, isinstance(ablob, (bytes, bytearray)))
            filenamePic = None
            if name is not None and isinstance(ablob, (bytes, bytearray)):
                name = name.replace('/', '_').replace(' ','_')
                filenamePic = picDir + '\\' + name + '.png'
                filename = picLoc + name + '.png'
                print(type(ablob))
                # writing to disk is working fine:
                with open(filename, 'wb') as output_file:
                    output_file.write(ablob)
                # creating image from path is working fine:
                # img = Image.open(filename)
                # creating image from blob directly doesn't work:
                img = Image.fromarray(ablob)
                imgFormat = img.format.lower()
                img.close()

I keep getting errors, when using Image.fromarray(ablob) the following:

<class ‘AttributeError’>, AttributeError(“‘bytes’ object has no attribute ‘array_interface’”)

I think you need to use frombytes not fromarray according to the pillow docs.

Many thanks for the very quick response! I came across frombytes already, however this requires specifying mode and size whereas I’m having the blob only.