Pip must notify people that they have been compromised by a malicious package

When a malicious package is identified, I strongly believe we have a moral obligation to notify people that they have been hacked. I work in the industry, and cleaning up from a breach is never fun - but one thing is universal, the longer the attacker has access, the more expensive it is to clean up. Additionally, failing to notify people that they have been breached may even be against California and EU law.

Malware distributed by pypi needs to marked as malicious and notify users with pip that they have been hacked. One option here is that pip upgrade should throw an error, and there should be a way to remove the malware package from the system.

Without notifying people, the criminals that are profiting from pypi’s lack of security - will continue to do so because of the lack of evidence to bring them to justice. I would like to see pypi work closer with law enforcement to share details about these attacks, “if you see something say something.”

I’d also like to see the stats of how many people are hacked each month. I think that hiding this information is bad optics. This lack of transparency is and ultimately bad for the community, because the squeaky wheel gets the oil. Hiding how many people are hacked, allows some people in the community to dismiss pypi’s continued problems with distributing malicious code. This as a kind of “wolf in sheep’s clothing,” and I have seen very talented senior engineers get hacked because of a typo.

There is some existing discussion on this, please see Feature request: Automatically uninstall malicious packages taken down from PyPI · Issue #5777 · pypa/pip · GitHub.

We do, see PyPI was subpoenaed - The Python Package Index Blog.