Process ends with the word 'Killed'

My problem here is that there doesn’t seem to be any way to find out what has gone wrong. I’m relatively new to programming by the way.

So basically, I have made a simple script that recursively processes all the files under a directory. What I’ve included below is a simplification of the code I was using that I can run to reproduce the same problem. I’m happy to include the full script if that would be better. When I run the code below on almost any directory, it works perfectly. My problem is that my script was designed to work on a specific directory I have, which is full of files nested inside a maze of subdirectories, and although it has been working flawlessly until now, and allowed me to process 1000s of files, it seems to have encountered a specific file that causes a crash.

The details are as follows:

When I run my script, or when I run the snippet below, and import_path is set to this specific directory, the program crashes with nothing but the word ‘Killed’.

The problem directory has been working for a long time until now. Leading me to believe that the problem is caused by a specific file.

I can’t think of a way to get the address of the file, in order to delete it.

I’m running these programs from the command line on my Debian 12 PC

import os

slots = 1
import_path = '/media/user/60/to_import'

def process2(address):
	print(address)

def process(address):
	if address.endswith(('.jpg', '.png', 'jpeg')):
		process2(address)
		global slots
		slots = slots - 1

def list_files_scandir(path):
	with os.scandir(path) as entries:
		for entry in entries:
			if slots > 0:
				if entry.is_file():
					process(entry.path)
				elif entry.is_dir():
					list_files_scandir(entry.path)
			else:
				break

list_files_scandir(import_path)

I would be grateful for any insight.

Edit: I have fixed a typo, and included the full script below:

from PIL import Image
import os
import sqlite3
import hashlib
import shutil