Python as functional programming language

Hi everyone.
I am a kind of python novice, sorry for dumb question here in advance…

I recently watched a few conference talks about functional programming.
(for example, Scott Wlaschin’s Domain Modeling Made Functional, Composition, Functional design pattern etc using F#)

Without jargons (functor, monoid, monads etc.), the basic concepts and approaches are very attractive for me and make me not to be scared about type systems…So I want to give a try using Python in a kind of functional way.

Python’s official website’s FAQ says

Python is an interpreted, interactive, object-oriented programming language. It incorporates modules, exceptions, dynamic typing, very high level dynamic data types, and classes. It supports multiple programming paradigms beyond object-oriented programming, such as procedural and functional programming.

Although Python is not designed for “functional programming languages” at first (to be honest I only have shallow understanding about difference in approach, philosophy, toolkit between OOP, and FP…), Is it okay and possible(even recommended sometimes) to write software fully in functional way using Python?

Thanks for reading this (dumb) question

3 Likes

Is it possible? - It depends on what you mean by “functional”. If you want to be “strictly” or “purely” functional, it’s not possible. But it’s definitely possible to apply a functional style. Perhaps the single most important thing there is avoiding side-effects in functions. Functions with side-effects often are troublesome and make analyzing programs a lot harder, so this is sth that is good to always apply, imo.
Avoiding statefullness is also sth that I think should generally be applied - again as far as possible. But here the question again is - how far do you want to go? (Python generators and coroutines for instance are very useful but maintain state.)

Is it okay? – Nobody is going to forbid you (I hope) :slight_smile: