Python cannot find module

Hi,

I am new to Python. I need to install the package Casadi. I tried this and was told that I need the package or module cmake. Fine, so I installed cmake (pip install cmake) and “cmake --version” now produces
make version 3.27.7
CMake suite maintained and supported by Kitware (kitware.com/cmake).
However, it seems that Python cannot find cmake because “pip install Casadi” produces the following error message

× Building wheel for casadi (pyproject.toml) did not run successfully.

• │ exit code: 1*
  • ╰─> [64 lines of output]*
  • :*
  •     File "C:\Users\mhedegar\AppData\Local\Programs\Python\Python312\Scripts\cmake.exe\__main__.py", line 4, in <module>*

•  ModuleNotFoundError: No module named 'cmake'*

•  Traceback (most recent call last):*

:

•  [end of output]*

• note: This error originates from a subprocess, and is likely not a problem with pip.*
  • ERROR: Failed building wheel for casadi*
    Failed to build casadi
    ERROR: Could not build wheels for casadi, which is required to install pyproject.toml-based projects

I have used : to denote that there are more lines which I have excluded. Please tell me if you want to see more details in the error message.

I am course very thankful for help. I really don’t know where to start.

BR

/Marcus

@M_hedegar

It’s possible that someone here will know what the issue is and you could get a better reply than this one, but have you tried the CasADi Support Community, given that the issue may very well be with the package, rather than with your Python environment.

Thank you Rob. It’s a good suggestion and I will try it. I hadn’t thought about the possibility that problem was within casadi.

Yet, if someone here has even more insight, please still respond.

1 Like