Python does not tell me which line an undefined function is in

Python 3.12 on Windows 10. I’m still fairly new to Python. I wouldn’t assume I know something. :slight_smile: I also have several project directories, each with their own virtual environment.

I got this error when running my program in debug mode using the pdb debugger:

-> if checkaddresses(addrlist)>0:
(Pdb) n
NameError: name 'checkemailaddr' is not defined

The function checkaddresses(addrlist) calls checkemailaddr, which is not defined because it is misspelled. The spelling should be “checkemailaddress”. Python tells me which line checkaddresses was called, but not where it tried to call the undefined checkemailaddr().

Is there a way to improve this error message?

EDIT: The misnamed function “checkemailaddr” is in my custom library called “ggutil.py” which is in it’s own directory, configured as a package as well. This is how I import that file in all my programs.

sys.path.append(r"c:/users/USERNAME/Pycharmprojects/ggutil2024") # Required to use ggutil
try:
    from ggutil import * # Custom utils. Must go last.
except Exception as e:
    print('ERROR: could not import ggutil.',e)
    sys.exit()

Other import methods did not seem to work to import ggutil.

The information should be in the traceback. Can’t you get the traceback somehow in pdb? (Quick check: the w command seems to be the one you’d need).

No, the info is not in the traceback. The undefined function is actually in my personal library file called “ggutil.py” which I import. This library file will be used with all my programs.

1. Keeping one library file for every different program would be a nightmare.
  2. Installing my ggutil in every virtual env for every would also be a pain.

Here is a minimal, complete, and reproducible example:

>>> def test():
...     hello()
>>> pdb.run("test()")
> <string>(1)<module>()->None
(Pdb) n
NameError: name 'hello' is not defined
(Pdb) n
--Return--
(Pdb) n
Traceback (most recent call last):