Python for Android app development WITHOUT Google (SDK)

Hi all,
I have a question regarding app Android development with Python.
I would like to create an APK file based on my Python code without dealing with Google.
What are the possibilities?

I followed this instruction until the point where I realized that Google comes into play!

Thanks for the support
Johnny

1 Like

Until & unless Android devices support file formats other than .apk I doubt you could “go without” Google. So, I would look out for what other file formats does Android devices support.

1 Like

Is this something where Beeware BeeWare · GitHub could help?

-Sumana

1 Like

The BeeWare tools rely on the Android SDK, so you can’t avoid Google with that solution.

1 Like

Thanks for the super fast replies. You guys are awesome.
I have tried Beeware, Buildozer and Kivy…they all rely on the SDK which comes with some terms to agree to with Google. I am a complete noob in this field thats why my question may seem stupid. How do people create open source apps for the FDroid for example? I cant imagine that they agree to any terms with Google.
What is your opinion or idea?

Thanks for the support of a super-noob :slight_smile:

1 Like

Thank you Somraj for the answer. I wonder how the people do their apps for the FDroid store. I cant imagine that they agree to Google terms or use Google “stuff” at all.

1 Like

Hi, in fact you only need sdk tools for signing apk (which are zip files).
Everything else could/can be done without, as the only thing that is really custom in the ndk is the linker. The question is more : is it worh the work for anybody around ?

1 Like

You can sign packages using the openssl tool unless things have moved on in the Android world. More details can be found here.