Python loop exercise help

Hi, I am new to coding.
Why does my code still slice the list when it gets to 11, despite it being an odd number?
The function should be removing any even number from the front of the list
Intended output should be [11, 12, 15]

def delete_starting_evens(my_list):
 while len(my_list) > 0:
  for num in my_list:
    if num % 2 == 0:
      my_list = my_list[1:]
    else:
      my_list[0:]
  return my_list

print(delete_starting_evens([4, 8, 10, 11, 12, 15]))

Output:
[12, 15]

The code modifies a mutable container, whilst iterating over it. Don’t do that. This is bad practise, and inevitably difficult to reason about, and can even be tricky to implement a simple goal with.

In general, to modify a container in place, making an iteration of an index over a range is usually more predictable. If memory is not a concern, list comprehensions are great. It’s better to use native list methods like .remove than making slices from a memory point of view too (but tracking indices and items is a little trickier then).

In this situation in particular, consider the converse, what you want to return, not what you want to delete: a simple search for the first odd number and a slice from there onwards is all you need.

Also that while loop adds nothing over an if statement and another return, and is asking for trouble.

Anyway I think the problem could be because when you start the for loop, iter is called on my_list, making an iterator over the original list items. This iterator is not updated when you subsequently reassign the name my_list to subslices of the new list it currently points to. So the for loop always iterates over all the numbers, and chops off the first number in my_list whatever that is, whenever an even number is found in the original list. There are 6 numbers, 4 of which are even, so the 1st 4 elements are chopped off one at a time, leaving the last 2.