Python Module madness

I have been coding since the 1970s, but I am new to Python. I found the Python tutorial too fundamental, so I skipped it and began coding with peeks at examples. I found the coding very easy but the built-in capabilities of the “as installed” system seem to be aimed at just fundamentals. Very soon, I found myself spending 90% of my time dealing with modules, sorting out “ifs” and “buts” and chains of modules that needed other modules, trying to use them, etc, to get capabilities I would have thought fundamental in the “as installed” version or at least available with a maths module and a graphics module. Dealing with Python modules needs a tutorial. (If I have missed a tutorial, please point me at it.)

It’s hard to say anything concrete without understanding what issues you’ve encountered. What exactly do you mean by “dealing with” modules? What tasks are you hoping to complete with them? What happens that you aren’t expecting?

“The” tutorial (I assume you mean the one in the documentation) is quite comprehensive and has an entire chapter on modules, so you could do worse than to swallow your pride and start back there.

2 Likes

It’s ok to have rushed ahead: Python is intuitive (up to a point) and fun to learn. It is perhaps time to circle back on the tutorial or the documentation.

The standard library that comes with an implementation of Python is quite rich but never enough. Installing more modules in the place Python will find them naturally used to be difficult. There have been several rounds of improvement: if it is continually difficult you have probably found the wrong way (or an old one).