Python project structure

Hello,

I am a programmer with experience in multiple of programming languages, but not yet in python. I want to start a bigger project, but while googling I find a lot of conflicting advice on how to structure it. Can someone provide me a few links to what’s the standard today, if there even is 1 standard?

Basically, I need an equivalent to the conventions given by Java’s maven, go’s go, rust’s cargo, …

I have these needs:

• Dependency management, isolated to the project (so multiple projects can have conflicting versions of the same dependency)… Ecosystem seems to be pip,pipenv, pipx,venv, but it is unclear to me how these work together and how much they overlap.
  • folder structure: Where do I place source code, tests, documentation, config, in relation to the project folder
  • tooling: What are best practices for enforcing linting, formatting, testing, …

I found this that seems to give 80% of the answer, but I don’t know if it really represents todays standards, and it has some holes (e.g. where do I put source code?)

I also found this, but I have the impression it gives tooling but not much conventions

There definitely isn’t one standard (you can find some very long discussions about this state of affairs :sweat_smile: ). There are a lot of options, catering to different styles or sets of requirements.

One resource I think is useful for something-like-a-standard is packaging.python.org. It focuses on what is standardized, and so there are some gaps that are tool specific, but it goes over things like where to put your code in a package directory.

I can give you my own personal preferences, but many people do things differently:

• For dependency/environment management I use conda (or preferably mamba) because I often use extensions that are historically tricky to install with pip [1].