Python source code to dynamic-link library

I’m a Python developer. I’m trying to wrap all Python source code into a dynamic-link C library, so that I can run Python scripts for any projects on any linux server without actually installing a Python interpreter. I’m thinking about if possible. using gcc to run a .c file converted from a Python start-engine script, while linking the dynamic library originated from Python source code, which can be used as a Python interpreter. Is this idea feasible?

Can someone please help me with this question? thank you so much ~

What is it you are trying to achieve? As far as I know, any Linux distro comes with a Python interpreter. And if it doesn’t, it is usually only two commands away.

In the previous line you say you want to run without an interpreter and here you are saying you want to create an interpreter. What is the difference with just using a pre-packaged one? Also this means that you will be having one interpreter per program, which will eat a lot of disk and may lead to incompatibilities.

If you are looking at a compiled version of Python programs, look at PyPy. I have not used it myself, but it has made a good name for itself.

If your idea is feasible, I don’t know.

Hi Menno,

Thank you very much for your reply. I think I may have to clarify what I wanna achieve.

Think about it, you just developed a Python project, which consists of a bunch of .py script. You can run it on your own linux server, which of course, has a Python environment.