Python using BeautifulSoup

Hi, I’m very new to Python and have written a program to scrape for baseball player bio data.

I made a soup object and extracted all the data to a list. I expect it to have 7 items in each record. Some of them don’t have all 7 items filled in so my list is not coming out correctly. I have been manually adding to the list to get all the fields filled in. The problem is that in the original list it has the HTML tags with “text”. I can’t get the additions to have the same
format. IE

My soup argument is:
my_list2 = soup.find_all('span', class_='player-detail')
it gives me 209 elements and I'm expecting 210
So I added the element using:
[my_list2.insert(209, '<span class="player-detail"> no signer'), 

The problem I'm having is that the original data in the list is like this:
[<span class="player-detail"> Aug 14, 1998 </span>,

My added element comes out in the list like this:
  , '<span class="player-detail"> no signer',

How can I get it to not be enclosed in '   '  so that it is recognized like all the other 
elements.

Thanks and I’m sure this is a very newbie question
GMD

The soup.find_all() method returns a list (technically, it’s a bs4.element.ResultSet object, but it acts like a list) of bs4.element.Tag objects. You’re trying to insert a string into this list, which is why your inserted element has the surrounding quotes. Instead, you must insert another bs4.element.Tag object. To do this, you must use the string to create a bs4.element.Tag object and then insert the object into the list. Here’s an example of how to do this.

import bs4
soup = bs4.BeautifulSoup('<html><body><span class="player-detail">this is a span</span></body></html>')
my_list = soup.find_all('span', class_='player-detail')
item_to_append = bs4.BeautifulSoup('<span class="player-detail">this is another span</span>').span
my_list.append(item_to_append)