Re-opening saved files

When I save a file while working in IDLE and go back to edit or make comments, it doesn’t open. I get a black window that flashes on my screen and nothing more happens. I am using this program for school and when the professor sends us examples I cannot open his examples and the same black window flashes.

I am new to Python so I could be doing something wrong but I have tried everything I can think of and have tried to look up my problem and no real solutions.

Thank you for your help!

Without knowing what you are doing, we have to guess what you are doing.

How exactly are you trying to open the files?

• double-clicking?
  • right-click then choose something?
  • something else?

What operating system are you using? Linux, Mac, Windows, something else?

Have you tried showing your classmates or your tutor and see what they say?

Sorry for no specifics I wasn’t sure how to explain my exact problem. I am using Windows operating system. When I open the file, I have tried double clicking, I have tried to right click and chose open with Python I have tried to open it with any option available. One thing I noticed while looking up my problem is other people receive the option to edit their python files but that does not show up for me and I don’t know how to get the option to show up.

I have tried to reach out to classmates or my professor, but they are not getting back to me. I will try to ask a tutor for help I just thought I’d see if anyone has any answers here.

Thank you for your time!

Are you getting a security notification when you write the file? Occasionally I get this with another editor. IDLE may not be able to read the file because it is quarantined. You can click the notification to get to a settings panel where you can allow the write to the file’s folder.

Just to be sure we are not missing something. Did you also try to start IDLE and open the file from the menu there?

Does it fail too? If so, how exactly does it fail?