Re-use of standard library across implementations

Hi all,

As a rustpython developer, I would like to be able to share parts of the python standard library in an easy way. We are now in the process of copying libraries from the cpython sourcecode base into our source repository, but this has a clear downside in that the libraries will get out of sync eventually.

I drew a schematic of a possible solution to this. This involves splitting the standard library, as it is now, into several subfolders which contain the different layers of the standard library.

Image:

The idea is to split the Lib folder into several seperate folders. This way, the standard library folder can be shared easily. The halfling modules are still manual work, since they are implemented in half python, half X, where X is the implementation language of choice.

Furthermore, we might want to seperate the standard library in so called good, bad and ugly folders. This idea is from gstreamer, where they have grouped plugins in this manner. We could move the old and deprecated modules into the ugly folder.

I’m curious to your opinions on this idea! Feedback more then welcome.

I wrote a thing to do wheels for each stdlib module. Perhaps added metadata with per implementation conditional dependencies could be used by a special installer to build a complete stdlib with alternative implementations for the nodules that need it. E.g. adopt the “rp” implementation tag for wheels that only apply in rust python. http://github.com/dholth/nonstdlib

You’ll want to talk to the PyPy devs. They’re been dealing with this for a long time so might have suggestions. And any proposal to restructure CPython to make alternative implementations easier will be much more compelling if it multiple alternative implementations all agree that it would work for them.