Rock paper scissors game won't print computer choice right

Sorry if this is a stupid easy fix, I am VERY new to coding in general
So I am trying to code a rock paper scissors game but my result isn’t coming out right and idk why

My Code:

import random

while True:
        user_action = input("Enter a choice (rock, paper, scissors): ")
        possible_actions = ["rock", "paper", "scissors"]
        computer_action = random.choice(possible_actions)
        print("computer chose {computer_action}.")

and then it responds with this when I run

computer chose {computer_action}.

and it should fill in {computer_action} with a random choice but its not and idk why

You want to use an f-string: print(f"computer chose {computer_action}.") (note the f right before the first ")

1 Like

Now its giving me a syntax error? “File “RPS.py”, line 7 SyntaxError: invalid syntax”

I would assume you made a syntax error when making that change, I have no idea what it is because I can’t see the code.

import random

while True:
        user_action = input("Enter a choice (rock, paper, scissors): ")
        possible_actions = ["rock", "paper", "scissors"]
        computer_action = random.choice(possible_actions)
        print(f"computer chose {computer_action}.")

seems exactly the same to me

Indeed, that code doesn’t have any syntax problems, but maybe it’s not exactly the code that you tried to run.

Usually a syntax error will provide some more context about exactly what was wrong (particularly in newer versions of Python)

Thanks for your help though! I’ll try to look more into it but its not really giving me anything

Well, yes; but if the problem is an old version of Python that doesn’t support this feature, then a generic message would very much be expected. (And even the most recent versions still have SyntaxErrors that say only invalid syntax most of the time; they just have better highlighting.)